A level Of Certain Inevitability…

As long as I can remember, I have felt the way I am. There is no getting away from it. Yet there are people out there who make a choice to deny that of me. Not only me but many others.

They state that I cannot have felt what I did because I was too young. They then state I cannot feel that way because I am too confused. Now, I am told, I cannot feel that way because I am influenced by society.

Sorry. Not happening. It doesn’t happen that way.

Those who tell us how we should feel do so because we make them feel uncomfortable. How I feel is outside of their experience. Something that does not fit in with their knowledge. I’m someone they cannot cope with.

I say to them:

I am here, therefore I exist. I feel, therefore I know. I think, therefore I have knowledge. I search, therefore I learn. If you cannot cope with this then leave me and my sisters alone.

Never tell me what I can and cannot be.

That is up to me.

Never tell me who I am.

That is up to me.

Never tell me what I feel.

That is up to me.

Never tell me what I am.

That is up to me.

You can tell me where to go,

And maybe what I say.

And sometimes maybe what to do,

But never what I am.

Leave a Reply

